Bowling gets Miller Award

Senior Editor

CENTREVILLE, Md. (July 28, 2015) — Chip Bowling, a seventh generation farmer in Southern Maryland and currently president of the National Corn Growers Association, is the winner of the coveted Dr. James R. Miller award for 2015.
The award is made annually by the Maryland Grain Producers Association in recognition of extraordinary service on behalf of agriculture.
The presentation was one of the highlights of the 2015 Maryland Commodity Classic attended by some 350 farmers, educators and agriculturalists at the Queen Anne’s County 4-H Park near Centreville last Thursday.
The event also served to introduce Dr. Craig A. Beyrouty who will assume the post of dean of the University of Maryland College of Agriculture and Natural Resources on Nov. 1.
Bowling’s home farm is a 580-acre operation in Newberg, Md., in Charles County, a farm purchased by his grandfather. His family had been tobacco farmers since before the Civil War, but in 1999, took the tobacco buyout program. Currently, Bowling farms 1,600 acres on 27 farms in Charles County.
Bowling became a regional member of the Maryland Grain Producers Association and Utilization Board in 2006. He attended the 2008 NCGA Leadership Program and later went on to join the first class of the Advanced Leadership Program. 
He served as president of Maryland Grain Producers Association from 2009-11 and then took on a commitment with the National Corn Growers Association. His leadership there as vice president and now president,  has earned him the respect of farmers across the country, MGPA said in the award presentation.