Hereford preview show attracts 40 juniors, 65 cattle

Staff Writer

GAITHERSBURG, Md. (July 7, 2015) — The 2015 Maryland Junior Hereford Association Preview Show was held along with several other activities on May 30-31 at the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Md.
There were 40 juniors exhibiting 65 head of cattle. Judge was Ryan Haefner of Sleepy Hollow, N.Y.
Madelyn Grimmel of Jarrettsville exhibited the Champion Heifer, LCC TG Merry Feeling 3158ET and the Reserve Champion Heifer was KLL RW Kandy 13B, shown by Melissa Grimmel of Jarretsville.
Melissa Grimmel also exhibited the Champion Bred & Owned Heifer, GGSC Carlee 6B and Kaylie Shelton of Frederick, had the Reserve Champion Bred & Owned Heifer, GMC Pistol Holly 1B.
The Champion Cow-Calf Pair was H R W Lady Cracker Jack 1195, shown by Kaylie Shelton.
The Reserve Champion Cow-Calf Pair was KLL Downunder 05V, exhibited by Wyatt Debnam of Glenville, Pa.
Misty Freeman of Upperco, owned the Champion Bull, PMF Prince Buddy 25A, and Kaylie Shelton had the Reserve Champion Bull, GMC Time Traveler 36C.
The Champion Steer, DJF 0002 89Y Benji 43B, was exhibited by Jason Baust of Emmitsburg, and the Reserve Champion Steer was GGSC Jeter 7B, exhibited by Madelyn Grimmel.
The Champion Futurity Steer was NCF 6B, shown by Ian Forbes of Churchville, and the Reserve Champion Futurity Steer was BMF Prince Aladdin 17B, shown by Anna Linthicum of Laytonsville.
The Showmanship Contest was held on May 30th and belt buckles were awarded to winners, Senior Showman, Breck Debnam, of Glenville, Pa., Intermediate Showman, Kendall Harshman of Frederic, Junior Showman, Karson Fahey, and PeeWee Showman, Holly Shelton of Union Bridge.
More than 100 youth from Maryland and the USDA in Washington, D.C. participated in the Judging Contest on Saturday with Tucker Scmidt the Senior winner, Stephanie Anthony the Intermediate winner, and Kendra Stickhouser the Junior winner.
Election of officers for the Maryland Junior Hereford Association was held on at the annual meeting held May 30. The 2015-2016 officers are: president, Tucker Schmidt, Taneytown; vice president, Wyatt Debnam; secretary, Kaylie Shelton; and treasurer, Madelyn Grimmel.
During opening ceremonies on May 31, the Maryland Poll-ettes crowned their 2015-2015 Royalty.
The Maryland Hereford Queen is McKenzie Wolfe, Princess is Katelyn Williams, and Junior Princess is Ella Jacobs.
Caroline Debnam, who will be attending Virginia Commonwealth University in the fall, received the Poll-ettes scholarship.