Md. Sheep & Wool Festival attracts 790 entries

Staff Writer

WEST FRIENDSHIP, Md. (May 12, 2015) — The 42nd annual Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival had near perfect weather May 2-3 at the Howard County Fairgrounds for what is reputed by many to be the best of its kind in the country.
The supreme champions of the shows were selected on Sunday afternoon by judges Lacy Hoffman and her brother, Travis Hoffman, both from South Dakota.
The Supreme Champion ram was a yearling Romney exhibited by Ethan Kennedy of Canandaigua, N.Y.
The supreme champion ewe was a Karakul from Ramona Butt of Muddy Creek Lambscapes in New Park, Pa.
Anne Maxwell of Harford County was named the 2015 Maryland Sheep and Wool Queen on Friday and she is the daughter of the 1988 Maryland Sheep and Wool Queen, Lisa Harkins.
The supreme champion fleece was a Natural Color Fine Wool from Steve and Terry Mendenhall of Mendenhall Wool Ranch in Loma Rica, Calif.
A record price was set on Sunday when the winning shawl entered by Spin City , sold for $1,475 to Thomas Goodall of Parkville, Mo.
The members of Spin City were dressed like characters from The Wizard of Oz, with weaver, Jenny Sethman as Dorothy, spinner, Lynne Yu as the Scarecrow, spinner, Dawn Brown as the Cowardly Lion, and spinner, Christine Oliveri as Glenda the Good Witch.
Emily Chamelin-Hickman was the shearer.
Another record was set with the 150 fleeces entered from 19 states from New Hampshire to California with 40 percent from Maryland, 14 percent from Virgina and 12 percent from Pennsylvania.
Prices ranged from $2 to $95 per pound with the average price at $14.66 per pound.
There were 356 fleeces entered for the show as well as for sale and 594 entered only for sale and were not judged.
Seventy-five percent of the fleeces were sold with a total weight of 3,877 pounds.
There were 790 entries in the sheep shows, from 97 exhibitors from 17 states including New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania., Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, Kentucky, Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and California.